Final 15 for the Sri Lankan Tour to be Named Next Week

It’s time to witness the big men back in action after having witnessed the young boys slaughter an under powered Zimbabwe team. The selection panel of BCCI will be holding a meeting on the 23rd of this month for selecting the final 15 that will be boarding the flight to Sri Lanka for the Test series.

Returning to the neighboring island after nearly five years, the men in blue will be taking part in a three-match Test series, starting from the 12th of August.

The series will also be the first time for which Virat Kohli will be assigned the skipper duty for the entire series.

The inaugural match of the tournament will be played at the Galle stadium from August 12th to 16th. It will be followed by the second match at Tamil Union Oval on August 24 and by the third match at Premadasa Stadium on August 28, with both the grounds situated at Colombo.

The Indian squad will also be participating in the practice match, which will be held at Premadasa Stadium on August 6.

The series will also bid the farewell to Kumar Sangakkara, the leading run-scorer for Sri Lank in tests. In a total of 132 matches played for the Lions, he has accumulated over 12,000 runs with an average of 58.04.

He has also grabbed 38 centuries in his Test career, standing fourth behind Sachin Tendulkar (51), Jacques Kallis (45) and Ricky Ponting (41).