Malappuram Bypoll: BJP Alleges CPI(M)-IUML Secret Understanding

Kozhikode: The Bharatiya Janata Party in Kerala today accused Communist Party of India (Marxist) and Indian Union Muslim League of reaching a secret understanding on choosing the Left Democratic Front (LDF) candidate for April 12 Malappuram Lok Sabha bypoll.

Talking to reporters here, BJP state General Secretary M T Ramesh said his party had information that CPI (M) politburo member and Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan and IUML candidate and its National General Secretary P K Kunhalikutty held secret parleys on the candidature of DYFI leader M B Faizal.

According to his information, the meet was held at the residence of a top businessman at Valancherry in Malappuram on March 18, he said. Following the discussion at the meet, they had zeroed-in on Faizal ignoring two other top leaders, he said.

He said Pinarayi Vijayan, ”who bailed out Kunhalikutty in the dubious ice cream parlour sex racket case of 1997 is adopting a similar stand in favour of the latter.

Veteran CPI (M) leader and Administrative Reforms Commission Chairman V S Achuthanandan who alleged Congress and BJP reaching an understanding in Malappuram, should come out with his opinion on CPI (M)-IUML alliance, he said.

However, BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) had announced candidature of N Sree Prakash after consultation with all of its coalition partners, he added.


Meanwhile, Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) candidate P K Kunhalikutty, of Indian Union Muslim League today filed his nomination for the April 12 Malappuram Lok Sabha byelection, here today. Kunhalikutty handed over the papers to Malappuram Collector Amit Meena in the Collectorate.

He was accompanied by, among others, senior Congress leader Aryadan Mohammed and IUML National Secretary E T Mohammed Basheer, MP. Prior to filing of the nomination, Kunahalikutty called on party state President Panakkad Syed Hyderali Shihab Thangal, who handed over deposit money to him. He also visited burial ground of senior leaders Panakkad Syed Mohammadali Shihab Thangal and Pookoya Thangal to pay tributes.