Surabhi Lakshmy Brings National Best Actress Award Home

New Delhi: Actress Surabhi Lakshmy has bagged the Best Actress Award for the film “Minnaminungu” at the 64th National Film Awards 2016, announced here today. She had received a special jury mention at the Kerala State Film Awards earlier for her role in the movie directed by Anil Thomas.

Surabhi plays a 45-year-old widow who takes care of her father, Gopalan, and her teenage daughter, Charu, by doing odd jobs in the flick. The film is yet to reach theatres.

maheshinteprathikaramBollywood Actor Akshay Kumar is the Best Actor for his stupendous performance in the film “Rustom,” which was based on the in-famous Nanavati Scandal in the 1950s.

Actor Mohanlal got a Special Jury Mention for his performances in the films like “Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol,” “Puli Murugan” and “Janatha Garage”.

Dileesh Pothen-directed “Maheshinte Prathikaram” has been selected the the Best Malayalam Film. Shyam Pushkaran won the Best Scenarist Award for the film.  Jayadevan Chakkadath won the Best Sound Designer award for the film “Kaadu Pookkunna Neram.”

Filmmaker Priyadarshan was the chairperson for the jury panel this year. For the first time, online submission was opened for the country’s filmmakers. About 344 films were sent to the jury this year.

 Other Awards:

  • Best Director: Rajesh Mapuskar (film: Ventilator)
  • Best Action Director: Peter Hayne
  • Best Film (Marathi): Kaasav
  • Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film: Alifa
  • Best cinematographer: Tirru (Tamil film:24)
  • Best Film on Social Issue: Pink (Hindi)
  • Best Children’s Film: Dhanak
  • Best Supporting Actress: Zaira Wasim (Film: Dangal)
  • Best Female Playback Singer: Emaan Chakraborty (Tumi Jaake Bhalobasho….) (film: Praktan)
  • Best Male Playback Singer: Joker (Tamil)
  • Best Special Effects: Navin Paul (film: Shivaay)
  • Best Hindi Film: Neerja
  • Best Regional  Feature Film (Telugu): Pelli Choopulu
  • Best Bengali film: Bisorjon
  • Best Kannada film: Reservation
  • Best Marathi Film: Dashakriya
  • Best Gujarati Film: Wrong Side Raju
  • Best Tamil Film: Joker
  • Special Mention Awards: Kadvi Hawa, Mukti Bhavan, Adil Hussain (Mukti Bhavan ) Sonam Kapoor (Neerja)
  • Best Environmental film: The tiger who crossed the line
  • Best film on social issues (jointly given): I am Jija and Sanath
  • Best Short Fiction Film: Abba
  • Special animation film award: Hum Picture Banate Hai
  • Best Narration Voice-over: Makino
  • Best book on cinema: Lata Surgatha
  • Best Movie Critic: G. Dhananjayan
  • Most film-friendly State: Uttar Pradesh
Photo courtesy:Kerala9