Voting for Malappuram Lok Sabha Bypoll in Progress

Malappuram: Voting began today in Kerala’s Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency where bypoll is underway. More than 13 lakh electorate are expected to exercise their franchise in the bypoll.

The bypoll was necessitated following the death of Indian Union Muslim League president E. Ahamed. The main contenders in the election are IUML General Secretary P.K. Kunhalikutty, CPI (M) leader M.B. Faizal and BJP leader Adv. N. Sree Prakash. Six Independent candidates are also in the fray.

Voting will be held from 7am to 6pm. Muslim League leaders Panakkad Shihab Thangal and P.K. Kunhalikutty cast their votes at AMUP School, Panakkad in the morning. NDA candidate N. Sree Prakash also exercised his franchise. LDF candidate M.B. Faizal doesn’t have vote in the constituency.

According to reports, there was around 16.05 per cent polling in the district. Vallikkunnu Assembly constituency has recorded the most percentage of turnout, 19.32 per cent.

Meanwhile, speaking to media, Panakkad Shihab Thangal exuded confidence that UDF would get a good majority. Kunhalikutty also said that there’s possibility of increasing the polling and the party would get majority of votes due to the systematic election work of the UDF. He claimed that local issues have been solved.

According to veteran CPM leader T.K. Hamsa, the final verdict is by the people. He said that there has been a trend since 2004 and he hopes it will be repeated. Hamsa added that whoever wins, the majority will be very less.

There are around 13.12 lakh voters in seven Assembly constituencies. Counting of votes will be held on April 17.