Malappuram Bypoll: Kunhalikutty Takes Unassailable Lead

Malappuram: P.K. Kunhalikutty, the UDF candidate in the Lok Sabha by-election in Malappuram, continues his dominance right from the beginning of the counting of votes today morning in Government College here. According to latest reports, the Muslim League leader has lead over one lakh and fifty thousand. He has already got more than one lakh votes.

In every round, Kunhalikutty raises his lead by leaving behind his opponents. The UDF leads in all the seven Assembly constituencies. At Kondotty Assembly constituency, though LDF was leading in the beginning, the UDF came back strongly later.

The counting of votes in electronic voting machines progresses in seven halls segregating the Assembly constituencies. There is a separate hall for counting postal ballets. It’s expected that the final results will be announced before 12pm. Around 300 officials have been assigned for the counting of votes.

The main contest is among P.K. Kunhalikutty (UDF), M.B. Faizal (LDF) and N. Sreeprakash (NDA). Six independent candidates are also in the fray.

Meanwhile, Kunhalikutty responded that he is not anxious about the lead. He said that LDF has not got enough votes from the places where they hoped to get good lead. The bypoll was necessitated following the death of E. Ahamed MP.