Munnar: Revenue Minister Freezes Transfer of Officials

Thiruvananthapuram: Revenue Minister E. Chandrasekharan has ordered to freeze the transfer order of Revenue officials at Munnar today. The Minister has given instruction to the district administration in this regard.

According to him, the experienced officials will continue till the new District Collector assumes charge and study the issues at Munnar. Though the officials were transferred as per their written demand, the Revenue Department feels that the shifting of officials would affect the activities at Munnar.

The special official team was set up by former Devikulam Sub-Collector Sriram Venkitaraman to evict encroachments at Munnar. After the transfer of the Sub-Collector, the officials also expressed their willingness to shift.

The main officers in the team had returned to their former offices. At Devikulam RD office, only three clerks, an officer in charge of senior superintendent and three peons are remaining now. The new Sub-Collector will assume charge on Monday, according to Revenue officials.

The Revenue Department officials who have been transferred were head clerk G. Balachandran Pillai, and officials P.K. Shiju, P.K. Soman and R.K. Siju.

There was widespread criticism against the LDF-led government when it announced Venkataraman’s transfer to the post of employment director.

The government then explained that it was only a routine transfer since the official had completed four years as Sub-Collector.